To Your Health!

Looks good on you & works wonders within you. @NYROrganic_US

In September, I went to Nashville’s Healthy Living Expo to promote B.Real Magazine.  While there, I met Camille Watson from Knoxville who had a NYR Organic booth. For years, I have been shopping at Sunshine Nutrition in Murfreesboro for my personal hygiene and skincare products. Aside from toothpaste, essential oils, coconut oil, roll on perfumes and my treasured diva cup, I’ve yet to covet any of the natural skincare products that I tried. The closest one that I liked was Mychelle dermaceuticals. However, since I started riding (cycling, #imabetty) with my friends, I found myself really dissatisfied with the sunscreen. It’s thick, chalky, white, and I couldn’t really sweat through it. Being 29 years old, anti-aging begins to take center stage, and sun protection is key. (I spent nearly a decade in a tanning bed, and I now suffer from tanners remorse – and crows feet, sunspots and more.)

When, Camille introduced the NYR Organic line to me, my first request was… “show me the sunscreen!” It was non-white, glided on with ease and appears to absorb into my skin, instead of sitting on top of it. I was genuinely impressed, but more importantly relieved that the ingredients were actually BENEFICIAL and non-toxic. I talked to Camille about my magazine, and she proceeded to tell me that becoming a consultant for NYR Organic might be an ideal fit because of my built-in promo opportunities via my magazine. I’ve never wanted to get involved in direct sells because typically it seems like more work than it’s worth. However, she was very serious about communicating the integrity of the company in addition to the NYR Organic products themselves. I told her I would have to do my homework, but I might actually be open to the idea. She gave me some consultant info, and I went on my way.

Over the weekend, I googled, checked out the website, looked up other resources like ewg.org, and thought about advantages and disadvantages to becoming a NYR Organic consultant. Over the years, I’ve become increasingly aware of the dangers of synthetics and chemicals. Therefore, I felt I could really get behind this and confidently share it with others as long as it is as real as they claim. For me, the biggest disadvantage to my involvement with NYR is that it’s not an American-based company. Being able to keep it local, even on a national level, is important to me. Unfortunately, because of the lack of full disclosure and lack of U.S restrictions, skin & healthcare products from the U.K. might actually be better.

[Though it is commonly assumed that FDA regulates cosmetics the same as it does food and drugs, “FDA’s legal authority over cosmetics is different from other products regulated by the agency …. Cosmetic products and ingredients are not subject to FDA premarket approval authority, with the exception of color additives.” – taken from the FDA website.

In the US ingredient safety is assessed by the Cosmetics Ingredients Review, a committee established and funded by the Personal Care Products Council (PCPC). So far CIR has reviewed only 11 percent of cosmetic ingredients and FDA has banned or restricted the use of only 11 chemicals. That leaves 89 percent of all ingredients used in cosmetics in the US that have not been evaluated for safety by any publicly accountable institution.

EU regulations require ingredient testing and safety guidelines go through SCCS, a scientific advisory committee appointed by the EU Commission. In 2003 revisions were made to the EU Cosmetics Directive banning 1,100 chemicals of the 15,000 tested from cosmetic use. This means that cosmetics and personal care products containing chemicals known or suspected of causing cancer, genetic mutation, reproductive harm or birth defects are not allowed to be sold in the European Union.]

Only 11 of those were banned by the US? I had to let that sink in.

I ordered my consultant kit within the following week. After using the products, I am thrilled so far! I have the Beauty Sleep Concentrate, Frankincense hydrating cream & White Tea mist & toning eye serum to thank for my amazing skin. I’m actually feeding it the best stuff out there. I cannot wait to get my hands on the Daily Brightening regimen. My goal is to barely EVER wear makeup, and I’m almost there! However, here’s a look at me today sans makeup.

3 thoughts on “Looks good on you & works wonders within you. @NYROrganic_US

  1. Today, I’m just wearing some bronzer & concealer under my eyes. I’ve come such a LONG way from the days when I use to wear heavy makeup to hide acne & scars. Also, I believe firmly that a drastic diet change helped eliminate my acne. It’s been a whole lifestyle process, but I’ve always just wanted to love my skin.

  2. Pingback: Looks good on you & works wonders within you. @NYROrganic_US « My Etch-A-Sketch Life

Leave a Reply

